Pokemon Black 2 Can't Load

Ask questions about DraStic or discuss compatibility issues here.
SociallyAwk
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:43 am

Re: Pokemon Black 2 Can't Load

Post by SociallyAwk » Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:21 am

I suppose I'll try trimming on PC. Can't seem to find any other fix. I'll come back with an update

bembmx
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 10:42 pm

Re: Pokemon Black 2 Can't Load

Post by bembmx » Sat Oct 31, 2015 5:48 pm

Have you found a solution yet? I am having the same issue pokemon black 2 on a note 4 from verizon running android 5.0.1 and the latest version of drastic. I cant find any way to get it to work. My galaxy note pro plays the game just fine its just the phone that dont.

SociallyAwk
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:43 am

Re: Pokemon Black 2 Can't Load

Post by SociallyAwk » Sat Oct 31, 2015 5:50 pm

Unfortunately I'm hospitalized right now, so I have no access to trimming on a PC. So, I'm stuck here with only SS to play.. Wishing B2 was working.

So no, no solution.

SociallyAwk
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:43 am

Re: Pokemon Black 2 Can't Load

Post by SociallyAwk » Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:40 pm

I've tried extracting with Zarchiver, in my hospitalized pursuit for happiness...
It's giving me an error saying it's out of memory? It's downloaded to my SD card which has plenty of space.. Is it speaking of a different source of memory? I'm pretty confused with this error. Even though it's loaded onto my SD, would my lack of Internal Memory have any effect in this?
Attachments
Screenshot_2015-10-31-18-36-50.png
Screenshot_2015-10-31-18-36-50.png (144.56 KiB) Viewed 4206 times
Screenshot_2015-10-31-18-35-34.png
Screenshot_2015-10-31-18-35-34.png (208.18 KiB) Viewed 4206 times

bembmx
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 10:42 pm

Re: Pokemon Black 2 Can't Load

Post by bembmx » Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:53 pm

Your confusion memory with storage. Your SD CARD is a form of storage your memory is inside the phone my note 4 has 3 gb of ram that is my memory.

SociallyAwk
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:43 am

Re: Pokemon Black 2 Can't Load

Post by SociallyAwk » Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:54 pm

So my issue is simply (as someone else has stated), not enough RAM?

bembmx
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 10:42 pm

Re: Pokemon Black 2 Can't Load

Post by bembmx » Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:58 pm

Maybe, I am having the same issue as you but mines not telling me that I dont have enough memory. It works fine on my tablet but on my phone (which has more memory anyway) and I still cant load black 2. the first black/white work fine its just the 2 that dont.

SociallyAwk
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:43 am

Re: Pokemon Black 2 Can't Load

Post by SociallyAwk » Sat Oct 31, 2015 7:02 pm

I've the same amount of RAM that you have. I also can run Black/White, just not B2/W2. This is extremely vexing.

TkSilver
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 3:30 am

Re: Pokemon Black 2 Can't Load

Post by TkSilver » Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:41 pm

While I can not really help with why black/white2 do not work in drastic (personally I do not own either to make a rom out of), I can answer what is going wrong with Zarchiver, since I actually use that program myself.

I am going to guess you are not using a rooted phone and that your Z3 (not sure the exact version but honestly it does not really matter) is running Android 4.4 or higher. Ever since kitkat(4.4) google has tried it's best to murder sdcard support for some insane reason. Notice that none of the google nexus phones have support (a slot even) for sdcards. Google has serverly limited what can be done on a sdcard in kitkat and in android 5.0 has only semi allowed some things to be done. Unless your phone is rooted you can un un zip using zarchiver a file that is on the sdcard even if your on 5.0.

So to fix Zarchiver copy the rom to internal storage.... then un7zip then place the uncompressed rom wherever your heart desires.

Also just putting this out there as a possible solution but DSi enhanced roms are notoriously annoying to dump properly so maybe the rom you have is buggy. You might want to dump your own cartridge and that may fix the problem. Some emulators have less issues with roms that are slightly "off" then others hence it may be up on a site but not suitable for use with drastic.

P.S. both of your phones are powerful enough to run any DS game fine (maybe not all at 0 fs, high rez) but none should simply not run a rom because of your specs.

SociallyAwk
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:43 am

Re: Pokemon Black 2 Can't Load

Post by SociallyAwk » Sat Oct 31, 2015 11:57 pm

Thank you for your input. Didn't know about Google trying to expel SD use. My phone is not rooted, no.

I tried your fix but to no avail.. Even tried the same route with B1 Archiver. No luck. So it leads me to think- is it just a bad dump? Maybe I didn't go about this correctly in one of the steps? I'm not THAT technologically handicap, otherwise I wouldn't be emulating. But I won't deny simple user error on my part.

However.. I can't find any other B2/W2 ROMs that will work. There must be SOMETHING I'm not doing correctly.

Post Reply