Drastic's Future

Discuss anything about DraStic here.

What to do?

Open Source Drastic
41
95%
Let DraStic fade away
2
5%
 
Total votes: 43

User avatar
ericbazinga
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:46 pm
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Contact:

Re: Drastic's Future

Post by ericbazinga » Mon Sep 24, 2018 10:56 pm

Platybus wrote:It's funny to see the 30/1 ratio in the poll.
I'm surprised someone voted to let DraStic fade away.
Image

Find me elsewhere at:

Discord: Ericbazinga#5561
Retrode Forum: http://tinyurl.com/hdsuvzk
Bulbapedia: http://tinyurl.com/zgyalrx

User avatar
dsattorney
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 11:29 am
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: Drastic's Future

Post by dsattorney » Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:59 am

Agree.
OBJECTION!
Image
Other places to find me:
VOGONS: http://www.vogons.org/ (as olddos25)

#Shake
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:14 pm

Re: Drastic's Future

Post by #Shake » Sun Sep 30, 2018 1:00 pm

SSUPII wrote:
#Shake wrote:Exo did you ever considered working in a 3ds emu for Android? We got Citra for pc, but seems that aren't any plans of an android version..
Exo is not interested in doing a 3DS emulator at the moment. Citra developers decided to focus on making the emulator better on PC first (since it still needs some work), also a direct port of Citra on Android is not possible due to some dependencies available only on PC.
allright...

But i have citra running on switch through Lakka, i tested it myself....but runs slow, needs a jit....how it can run on switch but not android?

User avatar
kaikun97
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:41 am
Location: England

Re: Drastic's Future

Post by kaikun97 » Sun Sep 30, 2018 6:25 pm

#Shake wrote:
SSUPII wrote:
#Shake wrote:Exo did you ever considered working in a 3ds emu for Android? We got Citra for pc, but seems that aren't any plans of an android version..
Exo is not interested in doing a 3DS emulator at the moment. Citra developers decided to focus on making the emulator better on PC first (since it still needs some work), also a direct port of Citra on Android is not possible due to some dependencies available only on PC.
allright...

But i have citra running on switch through Lakka, i tested it myself....but runs slow, needs a jit....how it can run on switch but not android?
Because Lakka essentially is running a Linux distro with Retroarch installed, not much different from running it on a PC. The situation is entirely different on Android. This has been asked to death countless times on the Citra forums and it's github page. I must reiterate:

https://citra-emu.org/wiki/faq/
Are you planning to make an Android version?
No, not at the moment.
Android phones are not powerful enough yet, the Switch is using a very high end nVidia Chipset but as you have stated, it runs slowly even on that.

#Shake
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:14 pm

Re: Drastic's Future

Post by #Shake » Tue Oct 02, 2018 7:58 pm

RetroArch was officially launched for Switch, hopefully one day Drastic will be a part of it...
#Shake wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 1:00 pm
SSUPII wrote:
#Shake wrote:Exo did you ever considered working in a 3ds emu for Android? We got Citra for pc, but seems that aren't any plans of an android version..
Exo is not interested in doing a 3DS emulator at the moment. Citra developers decided to focus on making the emulator better on PC first (since it still needs some work), also a direct port of Citra on Android is not possible due to some dependencies available only on PC.
allright...

But i have citra running on switch through Lakka, i tested it myself....but runs slow, needs a jit....how it can run on switch but not android?
oh okay....

PatchAdams
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: Drastic's Future

Post by PatchAdams » Wed Oct 03, 2018 5:52 am

#Shake wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 7:58 pm
RetroArch was officially launched for Switch, hopefully one day Drastic will be a part of it...
#Shake wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 1:00 pm
SSUPII wrote:
Exo is not interested in doing a 3DS emulator at the moment. Citra developers decided to focus on making the emulator better on PC first (since it still needs some work), also a direct port of Citra on Android is not possible due to some dependencies available only on PC.
allright...

But i have citra running on switch through Lakka, i tested it myself....but runs slow, needs a jit....how it can run on switch but not android?
oh okay....
Yip, Retroarch 1.7.5 was launched.. Switch now has access to 42+ Retro Systems, everything from Atari 2600 - PS1 (N64 too but not officially released since it requires a Dynarec to get 100% but it does work) :)

#Shake
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:14 pm

Re: Drastic's Future

Post by #Shake » Thu Oct 04, 2018 7:27 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hS0kJF5kgu4

citra is unnoficially running on android

User avatar
ericbazinga
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:46 pm
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Contact:

Re: Drastic's Future

Post by ericbazinga » Fri Oct 05, 2018 12:16 pm

#Shake wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 7:27 pm
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hS0kJF5kgu4

citra is unnoficially running on android
That's actually really impressive! Props to them!

But from a DraStic standpoint (since you're most likely showing us this so you can say "They have it and it can be done, how about you guys make one?"), Exophase has stated that he currently has no interest in making a 3DS emulator. Perhaps in the future he might, but i'm not a psychic so I wouldn't know.
Image

Find me elsewhere at:

Discord: Ericbazinga#5561
Retrode Forum: http://tinyurl.com/hdsuvzk
Bulbapedia: http://tinyurl.com/zgyalrx

#Shake
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:14 pm

Re: Drastic's Future

Post by #Shake » Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:57 pm

Somebody said Drastic is on the newest Lakka update for switch? i didnt bother to try it, is it true Exo?

https://gbatemp.net/threads/lakka-tv-tu ... st-8319689

xperia64
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Drastic's Future

Post by xperia64 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 3:33 pm

It does not, but since they are shipping a 32-bit ARM variant now, all it would probably take to get running is compiling SDL2 (only 1.2 seems to be in the image right now).

Post Reply