Page 1 of 10

Shaders

Posted: Wed May 20, 2015 3:27 pm
by Lordus
The latest beta update (build 70) has a completely new shader system, and allows custom shaders to be added in DraStic/shaders.
There's also a text file in there describing the format, so if you come up with (or port) anything nice, you can post about it here.

There's also a new filter included, which is FXAA. It might not work well or be slow on older devices, but I think it really makes more sense to use it with high-resolution 3D anyway, so devices that can handle that, should also have no problem with FXAA.

Re: Shaders

Posted: Wed May 20, 2015 5:48 pm
by ericbazinga
Lordus wrote:The latest beta update (build 70) has a completely new shader system, and allows custom shaders to be added in DraStic/shaders.
There's also a text file in there describing the format, so if you come up with (or port) anything nice, you can post about it here.

There's also a new filter included, which is FXAA. It might not work well or be slow on older devices, but I think it really makes more sense to use it with high-resolution 3D anyway, so devices that can handle that, should also have no problem with FXAA.
I can't find the shaders in the DraStic menu!

Re: Shaders

Posted: Wed May 20, 2015 5:54 pm
by Lordus
It's at the same place as before: Options > Video > Filter.

Re: Shaders

Posted: Wed May 20, 2015 6:10 pm
by ericbazinga
Lordus wrote:It's at the same place as before: Options > Video > Filter.
Thanks, but I tried all of them (using Mario Kart DS), and the one that suited me most was the default one.

Re: Shaders

Posted: Fri May 22, 2015 10:47 am
by huckleberrypie
FXAA? Now that's what I'm looking for! I'll post my findings in a jiffy.

Re: Shaders

Posted: Sat May 23, 2015 12:59 am
by Fefo
Whoa, very nice. However, please add a beta changelog somewhere; fixed topic, in-app pop-up, help > changelog... I read this by sheer luck.

FXAA works as intended: everything is blurred. Good for jaggies, terrible for fonts.

Re: Shaders

Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:04 pm
by zeroobligation
Just wanted to say that the highres 3d rendering + fxaa hq looke gorgeous, even better than on actual hardware. :D

Re: Shaders

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:37 am
by amason
Hi all,

I've ported over a TV scanline shader from emulator-shaders.

Just unzip the two files into /Storage/DraStic/shaders/ and then access it via Options > Video > Filter

If you want to tweak the strength of the scanlines change the following code values

Code: Select all

const float base_brightness = 0.95;
const vec2 sine_comp = vec2(0.01, 0.15);
Enjoy.

Re: Shaders

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 1:59 pm
by ericbazinga
amason wrote:Hi all,

I've ported over a TV scanline shader from emulator-shaders.

Just unzip the two files into /Storage/DraStic/shaders/ and then access it via Options > Video > Filter

If you want to tweak the strength of the scanlines change the following code values

Code: Select all

const float base_brightness = 0.95;
const vec2 sine_comp = vec2(0.01, 0.15);
Enjoy.
Cool. I like this shader, the game looks less emulated when it's on. Looks great in landscape mode but not portrait.

Re: Shaders

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:18 am
by amason
ericbazinga wrote: Cool. I like this shader, the game looks less emulated when it's on. Looks great in landscape mode but not portrait.
Interesting. I've just started learning about GLSL shaders. It is probably something to do with the texture resolution calculations. I'll take a look at it.