Higher resolution rendering

Discuss anything about DraStic here.
Post Reply
User avatar
huckleberrypie
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 4:21 am
Contact:

Re: Higher resolution rendering

Post by huckleberrypie » Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:37 am

Well, since some of you guys have mentioned about anti-aliasing, would it be feasible to use a sort of edge-detection method e.g. FXAA?

Hawntah
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 3:46 am

Re: Higher resolution rendering

Post by Hawntah » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:08 am

High-res is supposed to disable filters, right?

TkSilver
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 3:30 am

Re: Higher resolution rendering

Post by TkSilver » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:42 am

Hawntah wrote:High-res is supposed to disable filters, right?
I am running the new beta and well I was still getting the effect from hd2x filter while I had the high rez enabled. I could tell from the letters in the results screen in mario kart ds. I also tested with out any filters for performance testing.
huckleberrypie wrote:Well, since some of you guys have mentioned about anti-aliasing, would it be feasible to use a sort of edge-detection method e.g. FXAA?
You could try forced AA in your developer options of your phone, not sure if it would work though.

Exophase
Posts: 1711
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:08 pm

Re: Higher resolution rendering

Post by Exophase » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:52 am

huckleberrypie wrote:Well, since some of you guys have mentioned about anti-aliasing, would it be feasible to use a sort of edge-detection method e.g. FXAA?
I think this is a good idea and I brought it up with Lordus a while ago. The issue with FXAA specifically is that it requires depth information - that's not compeltely insurmountable per se, but it'd require a lot more information passed to the shaders (which would have a performance impact). On the other hand, MLAA doesn't require depth, at least as far as I know. If it can be handled entirely in the shader it should be free so long as the GPU is fast enough.
Hawntah wrote:High-res is supposed to disable filters, right?
No, but the effect may be less pronounced.
TkSilver wrote:You could try forced AA in your developer options of your phone, not sure if it would work though.
I don't think that would do anything.

User avatar
kaikun97
Posts: 581
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:41 am
Location: England

Re: Higher resolution rendering

Post by kaikun97 » Mon Apr 27, 2015 2:35 am

Exophase wrote:
huckleberrypie wrote:Well, since some of you guys have mentioned about anti-aliasing, would it be feasible to use a sort of edge-detection method e.g. FXAA?
I think this is a good idea and I brought it up with Lordus a while ago. The issue with FXAA specifically is that it requires depth information - that's not compeltely insurmountable per se, but it'd require a lot more information passed to the shaders (which would have a performance impact). On the other hand, MLAA doesn't require depth, at least as far as I know. If it can be handled entirely in the shader it should be free so long as the GPU is fast enough.
Hawntah wrote:High-res is supposed to disable filters, right?
No, but the effect may be less pronounced.
TkSilver wrote:You could try forced AA in your developer options of your phone, not sure if it would work though.
I don't think that would do anything.
I got the beta now with HD rendering. 1) It does look HD on my device. 2) No lag whatsoever using auto frameskip set to 2. I thought this was only gonna be smooth on quad core devices? My phone only has a 1.7GHz Dual core cpu.

Hawntah
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 3:46 am

Re: Higher resolution rendering

Post by Hawntah » Mon Apr 27, 2015 2:57 am

Exophase wrote:No, but the effect may be less pronounced.
Hmm.. you're right. Quite a bit less pronounced, actually. There seems to be some sort of additional filter being applied to 2D graphics only in low-res mode which helps hide the ugly squares of pixels. This is what I mean. Oh well, at least the 3D stuff looks amazing!

User avatar
huckleberrypie
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 4:21 am
Contact:

Re: Higher resolution rendering

Post by huckleberrypie » Mon Apr 27, 2015 3:24 am

And yeah, the high-res mode does work 'swell on my device, albeit with auto frameskip enabled.

acid
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 2:47 pm

Re: Higher resolution rendering

Post by acid » Mon Apr 27, 2015 3:45 am

Just tried it myself. Tried Nostalgia and Mario Kart. I have to say, not only do the games look much sharper, they seem to run smoother as well? I don't know what kind of voodoo magic you guys have used but it worked wonders. Amazing job! Thanks

Fefo
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:59 pm

Re: Higher resolution rendering

Post by Fefo » Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:32 am

Thank you for detailing the changelog.

So, my Nexus 4 on stock KK runs PS0 with mininal stuttering on maximum clutter. Add 1 frame auto-skip and things become smooth with no noticeable loss. Impressive.
BE ATTITUDE FOR ENGRISH

User avatar
ericbazinga
Posts: 1122
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:46 pm
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Contact:

Re: Higher resolution rendering

Post by ericbazinga » Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:57 pm

I'd get the beta, but I prefer to stay away from glitches and bugs. It sounds like the hi-res mode works perfectly, when do you think it will come out in an official update?
Image

Find me elsewhere at:

Discord: Ericbazinga#9215 (active daily)
Reddit: u/Ericbazinga (active daily)
Bulbapedia: http://tinyurl.com/zgyalrx (pretty much defunct)

Post Reply