Permanent animation errors in desmume

Ask questions about DraStic or discuss compatibility issues here.
randomguy456
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 3:16 pm

Permanent animation errors in desmume

Postby randomguy456 » Wed May 03, 2017 3:29 pm

HI, Every time I play in fast mode in pkmn black and pkmn black 2 there are animation errors in pokemon games and animations of the game, in normal mode everything looks good, but when I pass my sav to the desmume of the pc, errors Of animation remain, there is some way that these errors in the desmume do not appear. Excuse my English, I use a translator. :geek: :roll:
User avatar
ericbazinga
Posts: 977
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:46 pm
Location: You will never know
Contact:

Re: Permanent animation errors in desmume

Postby ericbazinga » Thu May 04, 2017 8:39 am

randomguy456 wrote:HI, Every time I play in fast mode in pkmn black and pkmn black 2 there are animation errors in pokemon games and animations of the game, in normal mode everything looks good, but when I pass my sav to the desmume of the pc, errors Of animation remain, there is some way that these errors in the desmume do not appear. Excuse my English, I use a translator. :geek: :roll:

Have you tried not using fast forward?
Image

Find me elsewhere at:

Retrode Forum: http://tinyurl.com/hdsuvzk
Bulbapedia: http://tinyurl.com/zgyalrx
Google+ (online often): http://tinyurl.com/jtda5pe
User avatar
kaikun97
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:41 am
Location: England

Re: Permanent animation errors in desmume

Postby kaikun97 » Fri May 05, 2017 4:53 pm

Not sure how the animations not playing got carried over.

More likely you turned the "Battle Scene" option off in the game settings which is the setting for playing animations.

As for playing in fast forward, bear in mind that frames may be skipped so your device can keep up depending on how powerful it is. If its a slower device then the game will run less smoothly in fast forward and you may not be seeing the animations properly.
randomguy456
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 3:16 pm

Re: Permanent animation errors in desmume

Postby randomguy456 » Sat May 13, 2017 6:37 pm

kaikun97 wrote:Not sure how the animations not playing got carried over.

More likely you turned the "Battle Scene" option off in the game settings which is the setting for playing animations.

As for playing in fast forward, bear in mind that frames may be skipped so your device can keep up depending on how powerful it is. If its a slower device then the game will run less smoothly in fast forward and you may not be seeing the animations properly.



This happens every time I play in desmume
https://ibb.co/gvFwvk
https://ibb.co/dZ3iak
https://ibb.co/ismfMQ

The sav is from drastic
User avatar
kaikun97
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:41 am
Location: England

Re: Permanent animation errors in desmume

Postby kaikun97 » Sun May 14, 2017 5:27 pm

randomguy456 wrote:
kaikun97 wrote:Not sure how the animations not playing got carried over.

More likely you turned the "Battle Scene" option off in the game settings which is the setting for playing animations.

As for playing in fast forward, bear in mind that frames may be skipped so your device can keep up depending on how powerful it is. If its a slower device then the game will run less smoothly in fast forward and you may not be seeing the animations properly.



This happens every time I play in desmume
https://ibb.co/gvFwvk
https://ibb.co/dZ3iak
https://ibb.co/ismfMQ

The sav is from drastic


It looks more like an Emulation error.
If you are playing in fast forward mode then these graphical errors are typical especially for the Pokemon games because they are being run too fast for some animations to display correctly (most likely not being able to display them fast enough).

Have you tried playing the game from the start without using the save file from drastic?
randomguy456
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 3:16 pm

Re: Permanent animation errors in desmume

Postby randomguy456 » Mon May 15, 2017 9:42 pm

kaikun97 wrote:
randomguy456 wrote:
kaikun97 wrote:Not sure how the animations not playing got carried over.

More likely you turned the "Battle Scene" option off in the game settings which is the setting for playing animations.

As for playing in fast forward, bear in mind that frames may be skipped so your device can keep up depending on how powerful it is. If its a slower device then the game will run less smoothly in fast forward and you may not be seeing the animations properly.



This happens every time I play in desmume
https://ibb.co/gvFwvk
https://ibb.co/dZ3iak
https://ibb.co/ismfMQ

The sav is from drastic


It looks more like an Emulation error.
If you are playing in fast forward mode then these graphical errors are typical especially for the Pokemon games because they are being run too fast for some animations to display correctly (most likely not being able to display them fast enough).

Have you tried playing the game from the start without using the save file from drastic?




It works perfect desmume , There is only problem when I use the drastic save file
But as the save file is drastic, there are always those emulation errors :|
randomguy456
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 3:16 pm

Re: Permanent animation errors in desmume

Postby randomguy456 » Mon May 15, 2017 9:44 pm

randomguy456 wrote:
kaikun97 wrote:
randomguy456 wrote:

This happens every time I play in desmume
https://ibb.co/gvFwvk
https://ibb.co/dZ3iak
https://ibb.co/ismfMQ

The sav is from drastic


It looks more like an Emulation error.
If you are playing in fast forward mode then these graphical errors are typical especially for the Pokemon games because they are being run too fast for some animations to display correctly (most likely not being able to display them fast enough).

Have you tried playing the game from the start without using the save file from drastic?




It works perfect desmume , There is only problem when I use the drastic save file
But as the save file is drastic, there are always those emulation errors :|



There is simply something that fails with the drastic save file on the Desmume, without using fast mode in any of the two emulators
Exophase
Posts: 1670
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:08 pm

Re: Permanent animation errors in desmume

Postby Exophase » Mon May 15, 2017 11:31 pm

There are graphical glitches because fast-forward skips frames, and some graphical effects like the battle transition won't work correctly if frames are skipped.

In DraStic I tried to make a heuristic to not skip frames that I thought would be critical for effects but it's really hard to develop something that actually works reliably for all games. It's possible to make it so that no frames that could be used later are skipped, but that'd result in a lot of unskippable frames for some games. But I've still wanted to make this an option.

You can however use the manual > 100% speed setting and turn off frameskip, but the device might not be fast enough to keep up.

There's little chance that DeSmuME is having problems only because it's using a save created by DraStic, unless somehow cheats put it in a weird state.
randomguy456
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 3:16 pm

Re: Permanent animation errors in desmume

Postby randomguy456 » Tue May 16, 2017 9:18 am

Exophase wrote:There are graphical glitches because fast-forward skips frames, and some graphical effects like the battle transition won't work correctly if frames are skipped.

In DraStic I tried to make a heuristic to not skip frames that I thought would be critical for effects but it's really hard to develop something that actually works reliably for all games. It's possible to make it so that no frames that could be used later are skipped, but that'd result in a lot of unskippable frames for some games. But I've still wanted to make this an option.

You can however use the manual > 100% speed setting and turn off frameskip, but the device might not be fast enough to keep up.

There's little chance that DeSmuME is having problems only because it's using a save created by DraStic, unless somehow cheats put it in a weird state.


I do not use cheats ,
Can you try to pass a drastic save file to desmume? To know if it is a rare problem or not, this of emulation errors , for example with black pkmn only when starting in the beginning when battling.

Return to “Help and Compatibility”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests