Pokemon Ranger(#1) upper screen visual error.

Ask questions about DraStic or discuss compatibility issues here.
User avatar
Kyousuke753
Posts:846
Joined:Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:30 am
Location:???
Re: Pokemon Ranger(#1) upper screen visual error.

Post by Kyousuke753 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:48 am

As Jay Haru said getting the Beta version should have a fix for this

you can apply for Beta here http://www.drastic-ds.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=828
Image

User avatar
Kyousuke753
Posts:846
Joined:Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:30 am
Location:???

Re: Pokemon Ranger(#1) upper screen visual error.

Post by Kyousuke753 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:58 am

UPDATE even the Beta version didn't fix this bug it's still there and constantly pressing the Start button it'd move the text upwards and back to it's normal place like my screenshot

Resetting the game doesn't seem to help at this point...it's a bug that needs to be fixed.
Image

User avatar
WeeabooZoe
Posts:20
Joined:Sat May 28, 2016 9:24 pm
Location:USA

Re: Pokemon Ranger(#1) upper screen visual error.

Post by WeeabooZoe » Mon Jun 06, 2016 4:20 am

Aha.. see what I meant?
When the screen reloads the bars jump up quite a bit. And I have applied for the group, I'm just waiting now.
Although when I download the beta version I'm assuming I'll be downloading an apk file? Will it just install as an update to my current DraStic application or as a separate application altogether?
Phone model: LG Stylo3 (Built-In Stylus, Yay!)
Android Version: 7.0
DraStic Version: r2.5.1.1a(beta)
Powerlevel: Over 9000!

"No one can save the human race; yet..
We were late to see it's really not a race."
- Clean Freak(Hatsune Miku)

User avatar
WeeabooZoe
Posts:20
Joined:Sat May 28, 2016 9:24 pm
Location:USA

Re: Pokemon Ranger(#1) upper screen visual error.

Post by WeeabooZoe » Mon Jun 06, 2016 4:26 am

Ignore my last questions I've figured it out on my own. Sorry!
(・∀・')
Phone model: LG Stylo3 (Built-In Stylus, Yay!)
Android Version: 7.0
DraStic Version: r2.5.1.1a(beta)
Powerlevel: Over 9000!

"No one can save the human race; yet..
We were late to see it's really not a race."
- Clean Freak(Hatsune Miku)

User avatar
Kyousuke753
Posts:846
Joined:Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:30 am
Location:???

Re: Pokemon Ranger(#1) upper screen visual error.

Post by Kyousuke753 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:29 am

Even if you obtain the BETA update madam it won't fix the bug...it might be something to do with emulator and it's passed onto the developers now...

You might want to post here so the developers can look into it for now.

http://www.drastic-ds.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=461
Image

User avatar
WeeabooZoe
Posts:20
Joined:Sat May 28, 2016 9:24 pm
Location:USA

Re: Pokemon Ranger(#1) upper screen visual error.

Post by WeeabooZoe » Mon Jun 06, 2016 9:11 am

Yeah I know but it never hurts to become a tester and help out for things like this.
Phone model: LG Stylo3 (Built-In Stylus, Yay!)
Android Version: 7.0
DraStic Version: r2.5.1.1a(beta)
Powerlevel: Over 9000!

"No one can save the human race; yet..
We were late to see it's really not a race."
- Clean Freak(Hatsune Miku)

User avatar
Kyousuke753
Posts:846
Joined:Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:30 am
Location:???

Re: Pokemon Ranger(#1) upper screen visual error.

Post by Kyousuke753 » Mon Jun 06, 2016 1:13 pm

This seems to be a timing bug, this will be fixed in the next update hopefully.

Confirmed that it's not the ROM that is the issue.

https://sourceforge.net/p/desmume/bugs/1300/
Image

Exophase
Posts:1716
Joined:Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:08 pm

Re: Pokemon Ranger(#1) upper screen visual error.

Post by Exophase » Thu Jun 09, 2016 11:33 am

I'll see if I can look more into it sometime. If it's a very timing sensitive issue it might be hard to do anything about though :/

User avatar
WeeabooZoe
Posts:20
Joined:Sat May 28, 2016 9:24 pm
Location:USA

Re: Pokemon Ranger(#1) upper screen visual error.

Post by WeeabooZoe » Fri Jun 10, 2016 9:40 pm

Take your time hun there's no rush. I really do hope there's some way to fix it though!
Phone model: LG Stylo3 (Built-In Stylus, Yay!)
Android Version: 7.0
DraStic Version: r2.5.1.1a(beta)
Powerlevel: Over 9000!

"No one can save the human race; yet..
We were late to see it's really not a race."
- Clean Freak(Hatsune Miku)

Gameskiller01
Posts:6
Joined:Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:29 pm

Re: Pokemon Ranger(#1) upper screen visual error.

Post by Gameskiller01 » Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:26 am

So I'm trying to fix this using the Lua code that was in the link that Kyousuke753 linked to (this post), and I named the file 'Pokemon Ranger.lua' (my ROM is called 'Pokemon Ranger.nds') and put it in the 'Scripts' folder for Drastic. I loaded Pokémon Ranger, and it did nothing. I did a little bit more research and found this, so I edited the script so it was

Code: Select all

function on_load(Pokemon Ranger)
local function AwesomeFn()
memory.writeword(0x04001012, 0002)
end
gui.register(AwesomeFn)
I launched Pokémon Ranger again... still nothing. Can anyone help me with this, because I think that this may be the best way to temporarily fix the issue but I have no experience in coding with Lua, so I don't know what I may be doing wrong or if Drastic uses different code so this code won't work with Drastic.

EDIT: So, coming back to this a couple years later, and, with help from one of the original commenters on that SourceForge thread, I was actually able to fix it... kinda. It seems to have an issue with transitions (my guess is that Pokémon Ranger doesn't actually render frames during a transition screen or something), so if you go through a door or transition to a new area the top screen will become all messed up again, but when the game is first loaded, and when the top screen is reloaded (such as by opening and closing the menu) the UI elements are actually in the perfect position. This is the script I've been able to make semi-work:

Code: Select all

function on_load(game)
end

function on_unload()
end

function on_frame_update()

  drastic.set_ds_memory_arm9_16(0x04001012, 0004)

end

Post Reply