Shaders

Discuss anything about DraStic here.
Lordus
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:05 pm

Shaders

Postby Lordus » Wed May 20, 2015 3:27 pm

The latest beta update (build 70) has a completely new shader system, and allows custom shaders to be added in DraStic/shaders.
There's also a text file in there describing the format, so if you come up with (or port) anything nice, you can post about it here.

There's also a new filter included, which is FXAA. It might not work well or be slow on older devices, but I think it really makes more sense to use it with high-resolution 3D anyway, so devices that can handle that, should also have no problem with FXAA.
User avatar
ericbazinga
Posts: 1024
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:46 pm
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Contact:

Re: Shaders

Postby ericbazinga » Wed May 20, 2015 5:48 pm

Lordus wrote:The latest beta update (build 70) has a completely new shader system, and allows custom shaders to be added in DraStic/shaders.
There's also a text file in there describing the format, so if you come up with (or port) anything nice, you can post about it here.

There's also a new filter included, which is FXAA. It might not work well or be slow on older devices, but I think it really makes more sense to use it with high-resolution 3D anyway, so devices that can handle that, should also have no problem with FXAA.

I can't find the shaders in the DraStic menu!
Image

Find me elsewhere at:

Retrode Forum: http://tinyurl.com/hdsuvzk
Bulbapedia: http://tinyurl.com/zgyalrx
Google+ (online often): http://tinyurl.com/jtda5pe
Lordus
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Shaders

Postby Lordus » Wed May 20, 2015 5:54 pm

It's at the same place as before: Options > Video > Filter.
User avatar
ericbazinga
Posts: 1024
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:46 pm
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Contact:

Re: Shaders

Postby ericbazinga » Wed May 20, 2015 6:10 pm

Lordus wrote:It's at the same place as before: Options > Video > Filter.

Thanks, but I tried all of them (using Mario Kart DS), and the one that suited me most was the default one.
Image

Find me elsewhere at:

Retrode Forum: http://tinyurl.com/hdsuvzk
Bulbapedia: http://tinyurl.com/zgyalrx
Google+ (online often): http://tinyurl.com/jtda5pe
User avatar
huckleberrypie
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 4:21 am
Contact:

Re: Shaders

Postby huckleberrypie » Fri May 22, 2015 10:47 am

FXAA? Now that's what I'm looking for! I'll post my findings in a jiffy.
Fefo
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:59 pm

Re: Shaders

Postby Fefo » Sat May 23, 2015 12:59 am

Whoa, very nice. However, please add a beta changelog somewhere; fixed topic, in-app pop-up, help > changelog... I read this by sheer luck.

FXAA works as intended: everything is blurred. Good for jaggies, terrible for fonts.
BE ATTITUDE FOR ENGRISH
zeroobligation
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 12:22 pm

Re: Shaders

Postby zeroobligation » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:04 pm

Just wanted to say that the highres 3d rendering + fxaa hq looke gorgeous, even better than on actual hardware. :D
amason
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:29 am

Re: Shaders

Postby amason » Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:37 am

Hi all,

I've ported over a TV scanline shader from emulator-shaders.

Just unzip the two files into /Storage/DraStic/shaders/ and then access it via Options > Video > Filter

If you want to tweak the strength of the scanlines change the following code values

Code: Select all

const float base_brightness = 0.95;
const vec2 sine_comp = vec2(0.01, 0.15);

Enjoy.
Attachments
scanline.zip
(905 Bytes) Downloaded 1114 times
User avatar
ericbazinga
Posts: 1024
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:46 pm
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Contact:

Re: Shaders

Postby ericbazinga » Fri Jul 31, 2015 1:59 pm

amason wrote:Hi all,

I've ported over a TV scanline shader from emulator-shaders.

Just unzip the two files into /Storage/DraStic/shaders/ and then access it via Options > Video > Filter

If you want to tweak the strength of the scanlines change the following code values

Code: Select all

const float base_brightness = 0.95;
const vec2 sine_comp = vec2(0.01, 0.15);

Enjoy.

Cool. I like this shader, the game looks less emulated when it's on. Looks great in landscape mode but not portrait.
Image

Find me elsewhere at:

Retrode Forum: http://tinyurl.com/hdsuvzk
Bulbapedia: http://tinyurl.com/zgyalrx
Google+ (online often): http://tinyurl.com/jtda5pe
amason
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:29 am

Re: Shaders

Postby amason » Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:18 am

ericbazinga wrote:Cool. I like this shader, the game looks less emulated when it's on. Looks great in landscape mode but not portrait.

Interesting. I've just started learning about GLSL shaders. It is probably something to do with the texture resolution calculations. I'll take a look at it.

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests