Eric and Huckelberrypie Discuss Nintendo's corporate nature

Post whatever!
huckleberrypie
Eric and Huckelberrypie Discuss Nintendo's corporate nature

Post by huckleberrypie » Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:26 pm

ericbazinga wrote:
huckleberrypie wrote:Wouldn't filing a DMCA report work? Like, show Google some concrete evidence e.g. hex comparisons, IDA stuff, etc. proving that the rip-off is based on your work.

Oh, wait, looks like you seem to have ruled that out, but given how Sony lost a case versus Bleem I don't think you'd be on shaky ground with the report. You didn't include any copyright-infringing code in your app, but I'm no lawyer so I can't vouch for that.
If DMCA's worked, then all the Pokemon ripoff games on Google Play that I reported for using Pokemon characters without permission (And not giving two fucks about copyright, running YouTube ads willy-nilly and pretty much asking to be sued) should have been burned to the ground by Nintendo. I hate how Nintendo will take down literally every Pokemon fan game ever (even if it doesn't even feature actual Pokemon and just uses the title), but doesn't give a shit about literal Pokemon ripoffs that steal pretty much everything but the title.
This, very much this. Nintendo has a penchant for witch hunting the living daylights out of fan works and yet when well-meaning people try to report cases that do deserve to be hammered, they simply turn a deaf ear. Like faux emulator scams for example, e.g. a supposed 3DS emulator. The Big N could've had the domain seized if they really are that zealous, but nooo.

'Tis why I'd love to hate the company for what it's worth.

ericbazinga

Re: DraStic DS Emulator rip-off?

Post by ericbazinga » Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:45 am